USA Deaf Soccer Association

USA Deaf Soccer Association is a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization.
Become a Sponsor
Want to be a sponsor for the USA Deaf Soccer Teams? Please email USA Deaf Soccer President Suzanne Anderson
USA Deaf Soccer History

Soccer, as with other team sports played with deaf participants, dates back to the founding of each sport; in the case of soccer, in England, the first organized game between deaf teams was played in 1871. However, United States participation in international soccer came along rather recently.

International organized deaf sports dates back to the formation of The Comite International des Sports des Sourds, founded in Paris, France on August, 1924; in the United States, the American Athletic Union of the deaf was formed in 1945, with the name being changed to the USA Deaf Sports Federation in 1997.

In 1965, the United States first entered a men's team in the Deaf Olympics, hosted by the United States, The USA team was 10th out of 10th teams. The United States has entered teams in most international deaf sports events since.

The Women's team formed to participate in the first Deaflympics in Australia, in 2005, and took the gold medal. The men's team was 9th out of 16 teams.

Throughout the Years

Men's Teams

  • 1965 - Washington, DC, USA (Host Country - Automatic Qualifier)
  • 1969 - Belgrade, Yugoslavia (no team)
  • 1973 - Malmo, Sweden (no team)
  • 1977 - Bucharest, Romania (no team)
  • 1981 - Cologne, Germany (Lost to Mexico 1-0 in Qualifier)
  • 1985 - Los Angeles, California, USA (Host Country - Automatic Qualifier)
  • 1989 - Christchurch, New Zealand
  • 1993 - Sofia, Bulgaria
  • 1997 - Copenhagen, Denmark
  • 2001 - Rome, Italy
  • 2005 - Melbourne, Australia (9th Place Finish)
  • 2008 - Patras, Greece (Deaf World Cup: 4th Place Finish)
  • 2009 - Taipei, Taiwan (8th Place Finish)
  • 2012 - Ankara, Turkey (Deaf World Cup: 12th Place Finish)
  • 2013 - Sofia, Bulgaria (Did Not Qualify)
  • 2016 - Salerno, Italy (Deaf World Cup: 6th Place Finish)
  • 2017 - Samsun, Turkey (Did Not Attend)

Women's Teams

Began in 1999 with a small sided outdoor tournament in London England, The St. John's Tournament. USA were tournament Champions

  • 1999 - London, England
  • 2001 - De Hearne Kortrijk Indoor Tournament in Belgium
  • 2005 - Melbourne, Australia (Gold Medal)
  • 2009 - Taipei, Taiwan (Gold Medal)
  • 2012 - Ankara, Turkey (Deaf World Cup: Champions)
  • 2013 - Sofia, Bulgaria (Gold Medal)
  • 2016 - Salerno, Italy (Deaf World Cup: Champions)
  • 2017 - Samsun, Turkey (Did Not Attend)
Upcoming Events

Men's National Team

2020 Training Camp - TBD

Deaf World Cup (South Korea):

Women's National Team

2020 Training Camp - TBD

Deaf World Cup (South Korea):

Youth National Team

No events at this time.

USA Deaf Soccer on Twitter